ACL Community: Halo Reach FFA Structure - 2011

Jump to content


2014 Donators

Help ACL buy equipment for 2014. Get your name on the 2014 donator's list !!


Halo Reach FFA Structure - 2011


Halo: Reach FFA Rules

The 2011 Circuit - How It All Works

ACL tries to accommodate newer players/teams by providing a minimum number of games while remaining truly competitive in its structure. This ensures more social players get a good run in a competition without being 'knocked out' prematurely. This helps to encourage LAN attendance and growth in our community.

The 2011 Pro Circuit will involve:

  • Online competitions
  • LAN competitions

Online placings will seed POOLS at a LAN EVENT, and still earn points.

Seeding points help to determine the ranking of players and teams. A team or player ranked in the top 8 by points is classified PRO.

An OPEN team or player is deemed any player with or without seed points outside of the top 8.

While a ranking of SEMI-PRO applies to teams ranked 9th - 16th, and AMATEUR applies to teams with ranking 17th – 24th, both of these groups are regarded as OPEN teams or players.

The structure for each competition differs slightly based on certain variables for online and LAN events. By and large, registration numbers effect how the tournament will be run.

Free For All Structure

The Halo Reach free for all tournaments are for individuals looking to test their skills against others in a chaotic battle where every man plays for themselves. A typical round will pit 8 players against each other at once on designated FFA maps. The maps are specified at the end of this section.

Each game has a 15 minute time limit. There is no kill limit. This means 15 minutes with no sudden death.

Progression to the next round is not based on a set number. Because attendees at each tournament differ greatly, a formula that means ‘top 4 progress’ is not always applicable. While this rule is followed where possible, there are often some advancements for odd numbers based on these statistics:

Place > Kills > K/D > Assists > Deaths.

That means, in some instances, players who place 5th or less may still progress based on those statistics in comparison to players in the same position in other pools. Ie:If 2 extra spots are available for progression for 5th placers, ACL will look at who had more kills first.

The Two Tier Structure:

Round 1 – Will determine Tier A and Tier B Bracket:

  • Tier A
  • Tier B

All players start in Tier A FFA Round 1. From there players who place Top 4 in FFA Round 1 will continue their progression through the Tier A bracket. Players who place below Top 4 in FFA Round 1 will progress through the Tier B Bracket.

Tier A: Tier A is made up of the top 4 placing players from each FFA Round and the bracket will progress all the way to the Tier A Finals. If you place outside the top 4 in a FFA Round (unless its Tier A FFA Round 1) then you are knocked out of the FFA Tournament.

Tier B: Tier B is made up of the players who placed below top 4 in Tier A FFA Round 1. Tier B works exactly the same as Tier A, players progress through the Tier B bracket by placing in the top 4 in their Rounds, and if they place below Top 4 then you are knocked out of the FFA Tournament.


The Halo Reach FFA is a tournament consisting of 8 individual competiting against each other on designated free for all maps. MLG FFA v3 gametype with MLG FFA Zealot v3 & ACL FFA Prophet v3, created by the XBL Gamertag: MLG Gametypes & ACL Beware, must be used for all matches and must not be altered.
The MLG FFA Zealot v3 Map and MLG FFA v3 Gametype can be downloaded here:Click here.
The ACL FFA Prophet v3 Map can be downloaded here: Click here.

All games must be played to the full 15 minutes regardless of kills as there is no kill limit. This means 15 minutes with no sudden death. Pool size of the amount of players depends entirely on participation and therefor and structure depends largely on attendance numbers.


LAN tournaments are run on the same proviso as an online tournament, depending largely on attendance figures.

Points - FFA Games

The top 32 players will receive points for the FFA competition.

Click here for a graph of point distribution

There are THREE components to the points system, each with their own weighting. Here they are listed below:

  • Overall placing online - 40%
  • Pool play LAN - 60% of ranks 17-24 using the 'blanket effect'
  • Overall placing LAN 100%

Regional Events

New Zealand, Perth & Adelaide

A regional leg of the circuit will work in a similar structure, but the points allocation will be slightly altered. The same points distribution will apply, but at 60% of the total. This should work out evenly compared to the bigger national events due to the fact there are less teams, making it easier to get a higher placing.